recruitmentcrm.com

Ashby vs CATS

Two recruitment CRMs compared on pricing, features, and fit, so you can shortlist with confidence.

✓Pricing verified against vendor pagesData reviewed September 22, 2026How we research →

By , B2B SaaS marketer and former Head of Content at Close.comPublished Updated

Ashby

Analytics-first ATS expanding from startups into agencies

4.7(107)
$400/mo (org ≤100 employees)Official

Best for: Tech-focused teams that prioritize analytics and product velocity

✓Best-in-class custom reporting and analytics

✓Rapid product velocity, constant shipping

✕Built for in-house hiring; weak multi-client database separation for agencies

✕Opaque pricing for AI add-ons and larger plans

CATS

Straightforward, customizable ATS for small agencies

4.2(144)
$89/user/mo (term not stated)Official

Best for: Small agencies wanting simple, affordable applicant tracking

✓Deep customizability of fields and workflows

✓Simple, centralized candidate management

✕Clunky, dated interface

✕Weak third-party data integration

Our verdict

Choose Ashby if…

  • ✓You're in in-house talent acquisition, a segment CATS doesn't focus on
  • ✓You want workflow automation working out of the box
  • ✓AI matching and assistance are on your must-have list
  • ✓Reporting and analytics drive how you run the desk

Choose CATS if…

  • ✓Your team sources through LinkedIn every day
  • ✓Multi-job-board posting is core to how you fill roles
  • ✓You want to trial before committing (free trial available)

Feature-by-feature

FeatureAshbyCATS
ATS + CRM core✓✓
Email/inbox sync✓✓
LinkedIn / Chrome extension~✓
Multi-job-board posting~✓
Built-in candidate sourcing~~
Workflow automation✓~
AI matching & assistance✓–
Reporting & analytics✓~
Temp back-office (pay & bill)––
Open API✓✓
Mobile app––

IncludedPartial or paid add-onNot available

What would it cost your team?

Est. monthly cost, entry tier5 seats20 seats50 seats
Ashby (official)$400/mo (org ≤100 employees)flat$400/mo (org ≤100 employees)flat$400/mo (org ≤100 employees)flat
CATS (official)$89/user/mo (term not stated)flat$89/user/mo (term not stated)flat$89/user/mo (term not stated)flat

Estimated from each vendor's published entry-tier price as of September 22, 2026; real quotes vary with plan tier, add-on modules, and contract terms. See how we label pricing confidence.

Frequently asked questions

How do Ashby and CATS pricing compare?

Ashby pricing starts at $400/mo (org ≤100 employees) (official, reviewed July 4, 2026). CATS pricing starts at $89/user/mo (term not stated) (official, reviewed September 22, 2026).

What does Ashby cost?

Ashby pricing starts at $400/mo (org ≤100 employees) (official, reviewed July 4, 2026). Foundations $400/mo for organizations up to 100 employees (10% annual-commitment discount); larger plans and Analytics are custom-quoted. Priced by company headcount, not recruiter seats (vendor pricing page, Jul 2026).

What does CATS cost?

CATS pricing starts at $89/user/mo (term not stated) (official, reviewed September 22, 2026). One published plan, CATS Pro, at $89/user/mo shown against a struck-through $110, plus a $500 data migration fee. The pricing page does not say whether $89 is a monthly or an annual rate, so the billing term is unconfirmed. The older $69 figure that third-party sites still quote no longer applies (vendor pricing page, Sep 2026).

Which is rated higher, Ashby or CATS?

Ashby is rated higher: 4.7/5 on G2 versus 4.2/5 for CATS on G2.

Who is Ashby best for, and who is CATS best for?

Ashby: Tech-focused teams that prioritize analytics and product velocity. CATS: Small agencies wanting simple, affordable applicant tracking.