Bullhorn vs CATS
Two recruitment CRMs compared on pricing, features, and fit, so you can shortlist with confidence.
✓Pricing verified against vendor pagesData reviewed October 23, 2026How we research →
By Ramin Assemi, B2B SaaS marketer and former Head of Content at Close.comPublished Updated
Bullhorn
The market-leading platform for staffing and recruitment agencies
Best for: Mid-size to enterprise staffing firms, especially temp/contract
✓Deep partner ecosystem: 138 listings in its public marketplace, and VMS Sync pulls jobs from 123 VMS portals (Bullhorn marketplace and knowledge base, Oct 2026)
✓Deepest temp/contract back-office (timesheets, pay & bill)
✕Dated, click-heavy UI that reviewers call sluggish
✕Automation and AI (Amplify) are expensive modular add-ons
CATS
Straightforward, customizable ATS for small agencies
Best for: Small agencies wanting simple, affordable applicant tracking
✓Deep customizability of fields and workflows
✓Simple, centralized candidate management
✕Clunky, dated interface
✕Weak third-party data integration
Our verdict
Choose Bullhorn if…
- ✓You're in rpo providers, a segment CATS doesn't focus on
- ✓You're in high-volume hiring, a segment CATS doesn't focus on
- ✓You're in contract & temp staffing, a segment CATS doesn't focus on
- ✓You run temp or contract desks and need pay & bill in the platform
Choose CATS if…
- ✓You want to trial before committing (free trial available)
Feature-by-feature
| Feature | Bullhorn | CATS |
|---|---|---|
| ATS + CRM core | ✓ | ✓ |
| Email/inbox sync | ✓ | ✓ |
| LinkedIn / Chrome extension | ✓ | ✓ |
| Multi-job-board posting | ✓ | ✓ |
| Built-in candidate sourcing | ~ | ~ |
| Workflow automation | ~ | ~ |
| AI matching & assistance | ~ | – |
| Reporting & analytics | ✓ | ~ |
| Temp back-office (pay & bill) | ✓ | – |
| Open API | ✓ | ✓ |
| Mobile app | ✓ | – |
IncludedPartial or paid add-onNot available
What would it cost your team?
| Est. monthly cost, entry tier | 5 seats | 20 seats | 50 seats |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bullhorn (official) | $495/mo | $1,980/mo | $4,950/mo |
| CATS (official) | $89/user/mo (term not stated)flat | $89/user/mo (term not stated)flat | $89/user/mo (term not stated)flat |
Estimated from each vendor's published entry-tier price as of October 23, 2026; real quotes vary with plan tier, add-on modules, and contract terms. See how we label pricing confidence.
Frequently asked questions
How do Bullhorn and CATS pricing compare?
Bullhorn pricing starts at $99/user/mo (official, reviewed July 4, 2026). CATS pricing starts at $89/user/mo (term not stated) (official, reviewed September 22, 2026).
What does Bullhorn cost?
Bullhorn pricing starts at $99/user/mo (official, reviewed July 4, 2026). Publishes small-agency pricing only: Starter $99/user/mo (1–2 users) and Core $165/user/mo. Pro and larger deployments are quote-based, and optional modules (AI Search & Match, Onboarding, Back Office) are priced separately (vendor pricing page, Jul 2026).
What does CATS cost?
CATS pricing starts at $89/user/mo (term not stated) (official, reviewed September 22, 2026). One published plan, CATS Pro, at $89/user/mo shown against a struck-through $110, plus a $500 data migration fee. The pricing page does not say whether $89 is a monthly or an annual rate, so the billing term is unconfirmed. The older $69 figure that third-party sites still quote no longer applies (vendor pricing page, Sep 2026).
Which is rated higher, Bullhorn or CATS?
Bullhorn holds 4.2/5 on G2 and CATS holds 4.2/5 on G2.
Who is Bullhorn best for, and who is CATS best for?
Bullhorn: Mid-size to enterprise staffing firms, especially temp/contract. CATS: Small agencies wanting simple, affordable applicant tracking.