CATS vs Gem
Two recruitment CRMs compared on pricing, features, and fit, so you can shortlist with confidence.
✓Pricing verified against vendor pagesData reviewed September 22, 2026How we research →
By Ramin Assemi, B2B SaaS marketer and former Head of Content at Close.comPublished Updated
CATS
Straightforward, customizable ATS for small agencies
Best for: Small agencies wanting simple, affordable applicant tracking
✓Deep customizability of fields and workflows
✓Simple, centralized candidate management
✕Clunky, dated interface
✕Weak third-party data integration
Gem
Sourcing-first talent platform with staffing-specific plans
Best for: Sourcing-led teams: in-house TA and outbound-heavy search firms
✓One-click sourcing across 30+ platforms with multi-channel sequencing
✓Best-in-class analytics and forecasting
✕Expensive at scale; enterprise deals run high per seat
✕Strict email-finding credit limits on lower tiers
Our verdict
Choose CATS if…
- ✓Multi-job-board posting is core to how you fill roles
Choose Gem if…
- ✓You're in in-house talent acquisition, a segment CATS doesn't focus on
- ✓You're in executive search firms, a segment CATS doesn't focus on
- ✓You want built-in candidate sourcing instead of separate tools
- ✓You want workflow automation working out of the box
Feature-by-feature
| Feature | CATS | Gem |
|---|---|---|
| ATS + CRM core | ✓ | ✓ |
| Email/inbox sync | ✓ | ✓ |
| LinkedIn / Chrome extension | ✓ | ✓ |
| Multi-job-board posting | ✓ | ~ |
| Built-in candidate sourcing | ~ | ✓ |
| Workflow automation | ~ | ✓ |
| AI matching & assistance | – | ✓ |
| Reporting & analytics | ~ | ✓ |
| Temp back-office (pay & bill) | – | – |
| Open API | ✓ | ✓ |
| Mobile app | – | – |
IncludedPartial or paid add-onNot available
What would it cost your team?
| Est. monthly cost, entry tier | 5 seats | 20 seats | 50 seats |
|---|---|---|---|
| CATS (official) | $89/user/mo (term not stated)flat | $89/user/mo (term not stated)flat | $89/user/mo (term not stated)flat |
| Gem (official) | $695/mo | $2,780/mo | $6,950/mo |
Estimated from each vendor's published entry-tier price as of September 22, 2026; real quotes vary with plan tier, add-on modules, and contract terms. See how we label pricing confidence.
Frequently asked questions
How do CATS and Gem pricing compare?
CATS pricing starts at $89/user/mo (term not stated) (official, reviewed September 22, 2026). Gem pricing starts at $139/user/mo (official, reviewed September 22, 2026).
What does CATS cost?
CATS pricing starts at $89/user/mo (term not stated) (official, reviewed September 22, 2026). One published plan, CATS Pro, at $89/user/mo shown against a struck-through $110, plus a $500 data migration fee. The pricing page does not say whether $89 is a monthly or an annual rate, so the billing term is unconfirmed. The older $69 figure that third-party sites still quote no longer applies (vendor pricing page, Sep 2026).
What does Gem cost?
Gem pricing starts at $139/user/mo (official, reviewed September 22, 2026). Staffing plans on monthly billing: Essentials $139/user/mo (up to 3 users per account) and Professional $199/user/mo (up to 10 users). Billed yearly those drop to $99 and $149. Enterprise is custom, with the choice of Gem's ATS or a third-party one. Both paid staffing plans start with a 7-day trial. Email-finding credits are 150/user/mo on Essentials and 750 on Professional. Corporate plans are quoted on company headcount, with discounted startup pricing under 100 employees (vendor pricing pages, Sep 2026).
Which is rated higher, CATS or Gem?
Gem is rated higher: 4.8/5 on G2 versus 4.2/5 for CATS on G2.
Who is CATS best for, and who is Gem best for?
CATS: Small agencies wanting simple, affordable applicant tracking. Gem: Sourcing-led teams: in-house TA and outbound-heavy search firms.