CATS vs Happlicant
Two recruitment CRMs compared on pricing, features, and fit, so you can shortlist with confidence.
✓Pricing verified against vendor pagesData reviewed September 22, 2026How we research →
By Ramin Assemi, B2B SaaS marketer and former Head of Content at Close.comPublished Updated
CATS
Straightforward, customizable ATS for small agencies
Best for: Small agencies wanting simple, affordable applicant tracking
✓Deep customizability of fields and workflows
✓Simple, centralized candidate management
✕Clunky, dated interface
✕Weak third-party data integration
Happlicant
Lightweight, transparent ATS/CRM for solo recruiters
Best for: Solo recruiters and tiny teams who want zero bloat
✓Extreme ease of use with instant onboarding
✓Transparent pricing and no annual lock-in
✕Intentionally shallow: no invoicing or VMS integrations
✕No app marketplace or API
Our verdict
Choose CATS if…
- ✓You need an open API for custom integrations
- ✓Multi-job-board posting is core to how you fill roles
Choose Happlicant if…
Solo recruiters and tiny teams who want zero bloat. See the feature table below for where it differs from CATS.
Feature-by-feature
| Feature | CATS | Happlicant |
|---|---|---|
| ATS + CRM core | ✓ | ✓ |
| Email/inbox sync | ✓ | ~ |
| LinkedIn / Chrome extension | ✓ | ✓ |
| Multi-job-board posting | ✓ | ~ |
| Built-in candidate sourcing | ~ | ~ |
| Workflow automation | ~ | ~ |
| AI matching & assistance | – | – |
| Reporting & analytics | ~ | ~ |
| Temp back-office (pay & bill) | – | – |
| Open API | ✓ | – |
| Mobile app | – | – |
IncludedPartial or paid add-onNot available
What would it cost your team?
| Est. monthly cost, entry tier | 5 seats | 20 seats | 50 seats |
|---|---|---|---|
| CATS (official) | $89/user/mo (term not stated)flat | $89/user/mo (term not stated)flat | $89/user/mo (term not stated)flat |
| Happlicant (official) | $69/user/mo (quarterly)flat | $69/user/mo (quarterly)flat | $69/user/mo (quarterly)flat |
Estimated from each vendor's published entry-tier price as of September 22, 2026; real quotes vary with plan tier, add-on modules, and contract terms. See how we label pricing confidence.
Frequently asked questions
How do CATS and Happlicant pricing compare?
CATS pricing starts at $89/user/mo (term not stated) (official, reviewed September 22, 2026). Happlicant pricing starts at $69/user/mo (quarterly) (official, reviewed July 4, 2026).
What does CATS cost?
CATS pricing starts at $89/user/mo (term not stated) (official, reviewed September 22, 2026). One published plan, CATS Pro, at $89/user/mo shown against a struck-through $110, plus a $500 data migration fee. The pricing page does not say whether $89 is a monthly or an annual rate, so the billing term is unconfirmed. The older $69 figure that third-party sites still quote no longer applies (vendor pricing page, Sep 2026).
What does Happlicant cost?
Happlicant pricing starts at $69/user/mo (quarterly) (official, reviewed July 4, 2026). Pro $69/user/mo billed quarterly; Enterprise is custom flat-fee with unlimited users. No annual lock-in; cancel anytime. Optional Leads Discovery add-on $49/user/mo (vendor pricing page, Jul 2026).
Which is rated higher, CATS or Happlicant?
Happlicant is rated higher: 4.9/5 on G2 versus 4.2/5 for CATS on G2.
Who is CATS best for, and who is Happlicant best for?
CATS: Small agencies wanting simple, affordable applicant tracking. Happlicant: Solo recruiters and tiny teams who want zero bloat.