CATS vs Top Echelon
Two recruitment CRMs compared on pricing, features, and fit, so you can shortlist with confidence.
✓Pricing verified against vendor pagesData reviewed September 22, 2026How we research →
By Ramin Assemi, B2B SaaS marketer and former Head of Content at Close.comPublished Updated
CATS
Straightforward, customizable ATS for small agencies
Best for: Small agencies wanting simple, affordable applicant tracking
✓Deep customizability of fields and workflows
✓Simple, centralized candidate management
✕Clunky, dated interface
✕Weak third-party data integration
Top Echelon
Affordable ATS/CRM with a built-in split-placement network
Best for: Solo recruiters and small perm firms doing split placements
✓Extremely affordable with transparent pricing
✓Automations, Sequences, and Smart-TE AI on the Professional tier
✕Resume parsing into existing candidate records trips reviewers up (Capterra, 2026)
✕Email integration draws more criticism than any other feature in reviews
Our verdict
Choose CATS if…
- ✓You need an open API for custom integrations
Choose Top Echelon if…
- ✓You're in executive search firms, a segment CATS doesn't focus on
- ✓Peer sentiment: 4.6/5 across 515 Capterra reviews vs 4.2/5 for CATS
Feature-by-feature
| Feature | CATS | Top Echelon |
|---|---|---|
| ATS + CRM core | ✓ | ✓ |
| Email/inbox sync | ✓ | ✓ |
| LinkedIn / Chrome extension | ✓ | ✓ |
| Multi-job-board posting | ✓ | ✓ |
| Built-in candidate sourcing | ~ | ~ |
| Workflow automation | ~ | ~ |
| AI matching & assistance | – | ~ |
| Reporting & analytics | ~ | ~ |
| Temp back-office (pay & bill) | – | – |
| Open API | ✓ | ~ |
| Mobile app | – | ~ |
IncludedPartial or paid add-onNot available
What would it cost your team?
| Est. monthly cost, entry tier | 5 seats | 20 seats | 50 seats |
|---|---|---|---|
| CATS (official) | $89/user/mo (term not stated)flat | $89/user/mo (term not stated)flat | $89/user/mo (term not stated)flat |
| Top Echelon (official) | $475/mo | $1,900/mo | $4,750/mo |
Estimated from each vendor's published entry-tier price as of September 22, 2026; real quotes vary with plan tier, add-on modules, and contract terms. See how we label pricing confidence.
Frequently asked questions
How do CATS and Top Echelon pricing compare?
CATS pricing starts at $89/user/mo (term not stated) (official, reviewed September 22, 2026). Top Echelon pricing starts at $95/user/mo (official, reviewed September 22, 2026).
What does CATS cost?
CATS pricing starts at $89/user/mo (term not stated) (official, reviewed September 22, 2026). One published plan, CATS Pro, at $89/user/mo shown against a struck-through $110, plus a $500 data migration fee. The pricing page does not say whether $89 is a monthly or an annual rate, so the billing term is unconfirmed. The older $69 figure that third-party sites still quote no longer applies (vendor pricing page, Sep 2026).
What does Top Echelon cost?
Top Echelon pricing starts at $95/user/mo (official, reviewed September 22, 2026). Monthly billing: TE Recruit Standard $95/user/mo and Professional $115/user/mo. Committing annually drops those to $79 and $95. Automations, Sequences, Smart-TE AI, Natural Language Search, [BETA] AI People Search, inbound email sync, and API access are Professional-tier only. The TE Network split-placement subscription is billed separately: $150/mo per agency plus a $350 startup fee on monthly billing, or $135/mo annually with the startup fee waived (vendor pricing page, Sep 2026).
Which is rated higher, CATS or Top Echelon?
Top Echelon is rated higher: 4.6/5 on Capterra versus 4.2/5 for CATS on G2.
Who is CATS best for, and who is Top Echelon best for?
CATS: Small agencies wanting simple, affordable applicant tracking. Top Echelon: Solo recruiters and small perm firms doing split placements.